Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Indie film of the week: Los Olvidados

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4OUOBl3Iik&NR=1

Los Olvidados is Luis Bunel's first film. I can't remember when it was recommended. Its been on the list for past year.

What I liked.
The mix of realism with surrealism. Its like Charlie Kaufman but in 1950's Mexico. Chronicles the lives of street punks and their violent lives. It was interesting seeing an B/W with that much realism. Most B/W films feel very staged and over acted. Los Olvidados did have these two elements. But then you get suprised with some very real violence. But it ain't over the top either, so its believable.
The beginning starts by saying its a true story. I'm usually suspicious of those claims, especially after FARGO.
But it feels very real.

Oh and of course you can't forget the dream sequence.
Bunel is also famous for the film he did with Salvadore Dali. Un Chen Andalou. The first surealist film. Google it. Its short and wierd.
So I was pleseantly suprised to find a beautiful surreal dream sequence in the middle of such a gritty violent film.

The combination of real mixed with surreal is something I really enjoy when its done well. Charlie Kaufman does it well, Spike Jonze, Fellini, Spike Lee.
In BQE I have similar sequence. We're shooting it as documentary, but it has very surreal scene in the middle that I think people will enjoy.


">

Friday, June 11, 2010

Resume writing sucks, Lie.

what is it about writing a resume that is so ... painful

is it the refection. every line you flash through a missed oppotunity. a title you hated or a position you missed. a political move that back fired.

and then you have to lie.

and of course there's no the question of future. where do you go from here. The mess that was your past, and now the awesomeness that is your future. How do you turn this white piece of paper into the seminal moment. A moment where you tell your grandkids around the fire place "...and then, I wrote that resume and I was never the same again."

fuck that, just lie, focus on the cover letter, the interview ,the research, your hair.
The piece of paper is not your script. Its not who you are. So just finish it before lunch. And get on the phone, get out the door. Become a salesman of your greatest product. You.

http://static.howstuffworks.com/gif/how-to-write-resume-1.jpg

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

How to say FUCK YOU Tmobile

how to say FU to Tmobile and take you money back

Tmobile sucks. as you might know. They've been gouging me for years now. and now I finally figured out how to say FU to tmobile and take my life back.

all you need is skype and Google voice

1. set up a google number. I managed to get my last name as my number. cool, THIS IS YOUR NEW NUMBER. GIVE PEOPLE THIS NUMBER

2. get skype pro. skype pro which is dirt cheap. i think its 12$ a YEAR. well worth it. you get a local number.

3. call tmobile and say FU!!
no exactly. get the cheapest plan possible. I got the 29$ 500 minutes. free weekend and night. also i added the 4.99 400 txts. otherwise you get charged 20 cents to recieve txts. FU tmobile you guys suck!

4. set up the call fowarding. Ok so if youre like me you spend a lot of time online during the day. no reason not to take advantage of skype on the pc to make and recieve calls, so here's the plan.

google voice number ===== Skype number------------ Cellphone number ------

so give people your google voice # it will foward to skype which you can answer when you are at your computer.viola! no wasiting tmobile minutes.
if you are not at your pc, set the skype to foward after 4 or 5 rings. i prefer 4, 5 incase you are slow.
only then will you recieve the call on your cell. and use your precious tmo minutes.
also if you don't answer it goes to google voicemail which is free.

thats it!

as for internet on the phone, its shitty, slow and over priced. get a phone with wifi and you can access hotspots and again you can say FUCK YOU Tmobile. and smile

Good Luck and let me know if you find better ways to screw this company up the ass the same way they have been scewing us for years.